Charades comes in handy

Since I have not started my French lessons yet beyond Duolingo, I usually begin my conversations in stores with, “Bonjour. Parlez-vous anglais?” This often works very well but today I went searching for a blow-up mattress in honor of Luca’s arrival and could not find anyone who did at the Grande Carroufour (Target of Lyon). So I acted out what I was looking for to the woman working in the section pour la maison. I will not provide a video here, but you can imagine me closing my eyes and laying my head on my hands like I was sleeping, then pretending to blow up a mattress. If Téa was with me she would have pretended she didn’t know me, but voila, my shopping trip was a success. At least until Luca realizes that is what he is sleeping on…

Leave a Reply

